Ladies of the Road

Jenny Lewis4  Jenny-Lewis-The-Voyager1

Photos of Jenny Lewis are from her website

GOTRDay 2
After listening to a few bands Friday night, I walked around downtown Walla Walla and enjoyed the local offerings: wine tasting, curry chicken wraps, and wine slushies. Yes, a sangria slushy is my new favorite.

Come Saturday, I was ready for more music, and to complete my shift for the Work Exchange Team. I enjoyed a cool morning walk downtown (another amazingly well-coordinated part of this stopover: a walking path that connected the camping area to the main venue to downtown, all within a mile of each other), was able to beat some of the crowd and stopped at Coffee Perk to enjoy some internet, coffee, and a sweet treat. Then I headed to my volunteer shift, where I worked with other music fans helping arriving festival-goers navigate the venue.

Jenny Lewispic

photo via jennylewis.com

Highlight of my second day at GOTR: listening to Jenny Lewis perform. Ok, Mumford and Sons were also amazing. Really amazing performers. I’ve been a Jenny Lewis fan since high school, though, from her days leading Rilo Kiley, and hearing her live fulfills my teenage dreams and current admiration for her.The progressive, honest lyrics have always resonated with me, especially when the place I lived growing up was not very progressive. 
Jenny Lewis, 2
Jenny Lewis

How great is her style, right? The suits she wore for her new album are   brilliant.23971caedd36598ea41873752a70eb4d              Photo credit: Katie Falkenberg / Los Angeles Times

Jenny Lewis is set to release her latest album, The Voyager, on July 29
Photo via Media for Misfits
As far as my music festival style: sun-shielding accessories, and light, breezy clothes to stay cool and dance-ready.

GOTRJenny Lewis

GOTR Walla Walla 005

Speaking of style, how great do these ladies look? They kindly agreed to pose for me. Their festival style was too great to go without being captured.

GOTR 012

And a song from Ms. Lewis to leave you with:

 

Leave a Reply

